SA8000 (social accountability) certification is an auditable standard. Which support organizations to uphold, develop, and apply socially suitable practices in the working place. Social accountability international is formerily council of priorities, by an advisory board consisting the trade unions. Measuring comparing & verifying by sa 8000 has became an useful instrument.

It also requires compliance with eight performance criteria, as outlined on the social accountability international website.

  • Child labour
  • Force and compulsary labour
  • Health and safety
  • Freedom of association and right to collective bargaining
  • Discrimination
  • Disciplinary practices
  • Working hours
  • Remuneration
  • Certification grants by independent accreditation body, which is accredited by SAAS (social accountability accreditation services). 23 certification bodies (accredited) are working worldwide.